Will the Real Biur Chametz Please Stand Up

Today I did the mitzvah of burning the chametz twice. One was a “fake” biur chametz and the second one was a real” biur chametz.

The first biur chametz was when I burned the ten pieces that I searched for last night, after my kids hid them all over the house. The reason why I called it the “fake” biur chametz is because I don’t see the point in it. We already threw all of our chametz in the garbage. I already said that if there’s any chametz left over it should be free for all, voided and nullified like dirt. Why do we need to burn these ten pieces, or anything at all for that matter? I only do it for the kids. Like most other kids their age they can’t get enough of it. Seeing the fire is an adventure for them. But then I did the real biur chametz.

*Mar 29 - 00:05*

On the way home I saw an old yid schlepping with a cane, slowly step by small step, with a bag of chametz in his hand. It dawned on me that this guy is probably on his way to the fire which has already been extinguished. When I turned to him and I told him, I saw how his eyes turn down in sadness. I can’t recall the last time I saw such a sad face; I genuinely felt bad for him. I quickly offered that I’ll go home with him and I will help him burn his chametz in his back yard. His face lit up immediately.

Together we walked the half block to his house, it took over twenty minutes. On the way we made small talk; we shared our genealogy, how we might or might not be related. When we finally reached his house and opened the door, I saw his wife standing with her walker at the top of the flight of stairs. I went up, got the necessary equipment to start and contain a fire, a few pails of water and a prayer book.

RetrieveAsset

As the fire burned out after 15 minutes, the guy turns to me and says: “I have a beautiful picture upstairs of the holy Minchas Elazar, as a reward for all your help I want to show it to you”. As you can imagine, I have the least interest in seeing a picture of the Minchas Elazar, especially not today, but instead I put the brightest smile on my face and said: “I’d love to see it”. This started another five minute trip up the stairs, followed by a five minute conversation about the picture. I thanked him profusely, wished him and his wife a happy Passover and I left.

This is the real burning of chametz; telling the yetzer hara that even though I have other things to do I will spend some time with the elderly, bring happiness into their home and be a good role model for my kids.

May you all have a happy and healthy Passover.

Leave a comment